

## COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT COMMISSION P. O. BOX 1429, HARRISBURG, PA 17105-1429

July 2, 2010

The Honorable Jake Corman Majority Chairman Senate Appropriations Committee Senate of Pennsylvania 281 Main Capitol Building Harrisburg, PA 17120

Re: House Bill Number 2493, Printer's Number 4059

## Dear Senator Corman:

I am writing in response to your request concerning an actuarial note for the above referenced bill. House Bill Number 2493, Printer's Number 4059, would amend the Act of February 1, 1974 (P. L. 34, No. 15), known as the Pennsylvania Municipal Retirement Law (Law), to: 1) provide for the establishment, administration and regulation of deferred retirement option plans (DROPs) by municipalities that participate in the Pennsylvania Municipal Retirement System (PMRS), in accordance with Chapter 11 of the Municipal Pension Plan Funding Standard and Recovery Act (Act 205 of 1984); 2) make numerous technical amendments to the Law intended to ensure that PMRS is maintained as tax qualified under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (Public Law 99-514, 26 U. S. C. § 1 et seq.); 3) restrict the solicitation of political contributions and make a related repeal; and 4) make numerous other technical, administrative and editorial changes.

Under the Public Employee Retirement Commission Act (Act 66 of 1981), the Commission has a mandated responsibility to review any legislative changes that affect public employee retirement systems. At my direction, the Commission staff has reviewed the provisions of House Bill Number 2493, Printer's Number 4059, and determined that the bill will have no actuarial cost impact upon PMRS.

Based upon the determination that House Bill Number 2493, Printer's Number 4059, will have no actuarial cost impact, I am informing you, on behalf of the Commission, that the bill will not require an actuarial note prior to further consideration by the General Assembly.

I trust this letter adequately responds to your request. If I may be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me by telephoning (717) 783-6100.

Sincerely,

Anthony W. Salomone

Southey to Slowe

Chairman

## Enclosure

cc: The Honorable Joseph B. Scarnati, III

The Honorable Dominic F. Pileggi

The Honorable Robert J. Mellow

The Honorable Michael A. O'Pake

The Honorable Mike Waugh

The Honorable Vincent J. Hughes

The Honorable Jay Costa, Jr.

The Honorable Patrick M. Browne

The Honorable James Ferlo

The Honorable John H. Eichelberger, Jr.

The Honorable Raphael J. Musto

The Honorable Dwight Evans

The Honorable Todd A. Eachus

Mr. Mark R. Corrigan

Mr. C. J. Hafner

Ms. Stacey Connors

Mr. Gregory K. Jordan

Mr. Michael Sarfert