

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT COMMISSION P. O. BOX 1429, HARRISBURG, PA 17105-1429

December 17, 2015

The Honorable Daryl D. Metcalfe Majority Chairman House State Government Committee House of Representatives Room 144 Main Capitol Building Harrisburg, PA 17120

Re: Senate Bill Number 1071, Printer's Number 1475

Dear Representative Metcalfe:

I am writing in response to your request concerning an actuarial note for the above referenced bill. Senate Bill Number 1071, Printer's Number 1475, would amend the Public School Employees' Retirement Code, the State Employees' Retirement Code and the Military Code to: 1) implement a hybrid retirement benefit plan applicable to most new members of both PSERS and SERS; 2) exempt State Police officers, Correction officers, and other hazardous duty officers from membership in the new hybrid benefit tier; and 3) modify the future benefit entitlements of current members of both PSERS and SERS.

Under the Public Employee Retirement Commission Act (Act 66 of 1981), the Commission has a mandated responsibility to review any legislative changes that affect public employee retirement systems. At my direction, the Commission staff has reviewed the provisions of Senate Bill Number 1071, Printer's Number 1475, and determined that: 1) on December 17, 2015, the Commission voted to attach an actuarial note to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, Amendment Number 04826 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, and Amendment Number 05049 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460; 2) the Commission's actuarial note on Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, Amendment Number 04826 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, and Amendment Number 05049 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, continues to apply to Senate Bill Number 1071, Printer's Number 1475; and 3) Senate Bill Number 1071, Printer's Number 1475, will have no actuarial cost impact beyond the previous actuarial cost estimate provided in the Commission's actuarial note on Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, Amendment Number 04826 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, and Amendment Number 05049 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460.

While the majority of the bill is substantively identical to the previous work of the Commission, there is a provision included in Senate Bill Number 1071, Printer's Number 1475, that would allow eligible current members of PSERS and SERS the option to "opt-in" into the new hybrid retirement plan for all future service. The

Commission's consulting actuary has indicated that the actuarial cost impact of this particular provision would be unquantifiable, and that there could not be a reliable prediction as to how many members would choose this option or how long they would remain in the plan to estimate their ultimate benefit and resulting cost.

Based upon the determination that Senate Bill Number 1071, Printer's Number 1475, will have no actuarial cost impact beyond that described in the Commission's actuarial note on Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, Amendment Number 04826 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, and Amendment Number 05049 to Senate Bill Number 1082, Printer's Number 1460, I am informing you, on behalf of the Commission, that the bill will not require an additional actuarial note prior to further consideration by the General Assembly.

I trust this letter adequately responds to your request. If I may be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me by telephoning (717) 783-6100.

Sincerely,

John T. Durbin Chairman

cc: The Honorable Mike Turzai

The Honorable David Reed

The Honorable Frank Dermody

The Honorable Bryan Cutler

The Honorable Michael K. Hanna

The Honorable Sandra Major

The Honorable Dan Frankel

The Honorable William F. Adolph, Jr.

The Honorable Joseph F. Markosek

The Honorable Bernie O'Neill

The Honorable Jake Wheatley, Jr.

The Honorable Michael Tobash

The Honorable R. Ted Harhai

The Honorable Stan Saylor

The Honorable James R. Roebuck, Jr.

The Honorable Mark B. Cohen

The Honorable Patrick M. Browne

Ms. Karen Coates

Mr. Clancy Myer

Mr. Dave Reddecliff

Ms. Lisa Taglang

Mr. Bernard Gallagher

Ms. Kim Hileman

Ms. Susan Boyle